The Board of Trustees (School Board) for the Somerville Independent School District consists of seven members as provided for by the Texas Education Code and other applicable laws pertaining to the organization and operations of local schools. Each member is elected to serve a three-year term, and terms are staggered such that the composition of the School Board may change each year following an election to fill seats for expired terms.

The School Board conducts business according to the Texas Open Meetings Act. Any action taken by the Board must be taken by vote of the members in open session and is subject to a majority rule voting system. The Board reorganizes each year by electing a new President, Vice President and Secretary at the first meeting following the election and following seating and swearing in of any new members.

The School Board meets at least once each month in Regular Meeting and may call Special Meetings as required. Regular meetings are held on the second Wednesday of each month. Each meeting Notice and Agenda is posted online in BoardBook via the SISD website and on the bulletin board outside the Administration Building at least 72 hours before the meeting. The School Board intends to actively utilize this website to publicize meetings, actions, and information important to the public.

Board Member


Term Expires

Jason Urbanosky


May 2025

Melissa Tharp


May 2024

Joe Gonzales


May 2024

Linda Pinkerton


May 2025

Kim Casanova


May 2023- Unopposed

Keith Howe


May 2023-Unopposed

David Idlebird


May 2024

Precinct Number(s) 406, 410, 113, 114
2023 General Election to elect (2)Two school board members for three-year terms.
Early Voting and Election Day Voting Location: 625 8th Street, Somerville, TX 77879
Mailing Address: Attention: Ninfa Stevens, PO BOX 997, Somerville, TX 77879
Phone Number: 979-596-2153
Email Address:
Election Day Voting: May 6, 2023: 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Early Voting by personal appearance Will be conducted each weekday at: (La votación anticipada en persona se llevará a cabo todos los días de la semana en:)
Somerville ISD Administrative Offices / 625 8th Street, Somerville, Texas 77879

 Between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. beginning Monday, April 24, 2023, and ending Tuesday, May 2, 2023.
(Entre las 8:00 a.m. y las 5:00 p.m. a partir del lunes 24 de abril de 2023 y hasta el viernes 2 de mayo de 2023; y entre las 8:00 a.m. y las 5:00 p.m.)

 Applications for ballot by mail shall be mailed to:
(Las solicitudes de boletas por correo se enviarán por correo a:)
Ninfa Stevens (Email:
Early Voting Clerk- (Secretario de Votación Anticipada)
PO BOX 997, Somerville, Texas 77879- (dirección)

Mailed Ballots Must be received by May 8, 2023 by 5:00 p.m.

Current state law requires a candidate for trustee of an independent school district to be a qualified voter by the time required by Election Code Section 141.001.

Notice of Deadline to File an Application for Place on the Ballot

Application for Place on the Ballot Filing Dates & Times: January 18, 2023, through February 16, 2023. Hours: Monday-Thursday 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. and Friday 8:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.
Last Day to File Application for Place on Ballot: February 17, 2023: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

An application for a place on the ballot (PDF) must be filed with the secretary of the school district board.